National and regional commissioners

The Rectorate first started appointing national and regional commissioners for various key countries and regions in 2012. Their goal is to bundle the diverse academic relationships between the BUW and other universities and institutions abroad and to provide them with sustainable support. The national and regional clusters were selected on the basis of defined quality standards, the activities preferred and the potential of the key areas for future projects. Because of their regional competence, the national and regional commissioners function as contacts and multipliers both internally and externally.

Along with the visibility of partnerships and activities, the respective cluster also focuses on networking between university teachers. In this context, regular national workshops provide an opportunity for exchange and the interdisciplinary initiation of new project ideas. All university teachers with an interest in this topic are warmly invited to these meetings.

The current national and regional commissioners are:

FRANCE                 Prof. Dr. Alexander Schnell

INDIA                     Prof. Dr. Ursula Kocher

ITALY                      Prof. Dr. Jochen Johrendt

JAPAN                    N.N.

KOREA                    N.N.

LATIN AMERICA    Prof. Dr. Brigitte Wolf 

NORTH AMERICA  Prof. Gert Trauernicht

TURKEY                  Prof. Dr. Petra Buchwald

You will find more information about the key countries and regions on their respective national/regional web pages together with the commissioners’ contact information.


Nina Phlippen

UniService Internationales

Campus Grifflenberg. O.06.13

Tel.:  +49 (0) 202-439 5706

Email: phlippen[at]

More information about #UniWuppertal: